344 Congress Street - Boston, MA 02210
ANTIQUE FIRE APPARATUS
The Museum is proud to display the following pieces of fire apparatus, all owned by the City of Boston:
FIRE ALARM DISPLAYS AND ARTIFACTS
The effective operation of a Fire Alarm system plays an important role in the fire service. The first Fire Alarm Telegraph system in the world was located in Boston, with the first alarm transmitted on April 29,1852. Among the Fire Alarm displays we have are:
The Museum is connected to the Boston Fire Department's "tapper" circuit, so when a box is "transmitted", the bells ring and the register tape records the box number.
Since the invention of the camera, still photography has played an important part in documenting the many facets of the fire service. We are proud to display many interesting and significant pictures which chronicle the history of the Boston Fire Department and other departments in the Greater Boston area. Among them are:
FIRE FIGHTING EQUIPMENT
A vital part of fighting a fire is the use of tools and equipment. Many specialized tools have been developed over the years to make this job easier, safer and more effective. Among the tools and equipment we have on display are:
The equipment worn by the firefighter is the most important part of the tools and equipment. We have on display a life-size mannequin wearing all the present-day protective equipment worn by firefighters. Among them are:
ARCHITECTURALLY SIGNIFICANT BUILDING
The Museum occupies the firehouse, formerly Engine Companies 38 & 39, and later Engine 39 and Ladder 18, built in 1891. It is a building of unique architectural design, particularly with the granite, brick, and red tile front facade. Another unique feature is the absence of columns or poles on the main apparatus floor to support the second floor. This is because the second floor is held up, from above, through the use of a wooden truss-type roof and a series of steel columns extending downward.
The firehouse originally had six horse stalls, because 6 horses were needed to pull all the apparatus at the time the house opened. The horses were removed from service in this fire house in 1917, at which time the building underwent considerable renovation. Engine Company 38 was disbanded in 1947. Ladder 18 moved in from another firehouse in 1953. The building was closed in 1977.
In 1987, approval was granted for the
"Congress Street Fire Station" to be granted
"Landmark" status and be included in the National Register of
Historic Places. One of the Museum's prime goals is to maintain, preserve,
and improve this landmark building.
Please click here for a quick view of the firehouse and some of the exhibits.
© 2017 - Boston
all rights reserved